Home >  Who We Are >  Team

BAM Project Team

Steering Committee:

  • Erin Bayne, University of Alberta
  • Steve Cumming, Université Laval
  • Fiona Schmiegelow, University of Alberta
  • Samantha Song, Environment and Climate Change Canada


  • Nicole Barker, Coordinating Scientist
  • Trish Fontaine, Database Manager 
  • Peter Solymos, Statistical Ecologist 
  • Diana Stralberg, Project Ecologist
  • Francisco Dénes, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Alberta 
  • Lionel Leston, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Alberta 
  • Andy Crosby, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Alberta 
  • Tati Micheletti, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of British Columbia 
  • Alberto Suarez Esteban, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Alberta


  • Tara Stehelin, PhD student, University of Alberta 
  • Brendan Casey, MSc student, University of Alberta  
  • Antoine Adde, PhD student, Université Laval
  • Isolde Lane Shaw, PhD student, Université Laval
  • Ana Raymundo, PhD student, Université Laval

Contributing Scientists:

  • Samuel Haché, Wildlife Biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Lisa Mahon, Wildlife Biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Steve Matsuoka, Research Wildlife Biologist, USGS Alaska
  • Judith Toms, Wildlife Biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment and Climate Change Canada 
  • Steve Van Wilgenburg, Wildlife Biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Alana Westwood, Science and Policy Analyst, Yellowstone to Yukon Conservation Initiative

Technical Committee:

  • Marcel Darveau, Ducks Unlimited Canada & Université Laval
  • André Desrochers, Université Laval
  • Pierre Drapeau, Université de Québec à Montréal
  • Charles Francis, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Colleen Handel, United States Geological Survey
  • Keith Hobson, Environment and Climate Change Canada & University of Western Ontario
  • Craig Machtans, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Julienne Morissette, Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Gerald Niemi, University of Minnesota - Duluth
  • Rob Rempel, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
  • Stuart Slattery, Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Phil Taylor, Acadia University/BSC
  • Lisa Venier, Canadian Forest Service
  • Pierre Vernier, University of Alberta
  • Marc-André Villard, Université de Moncton


Supporting Staff and Project Assistance:

Recent or current as of March 2017:

  • Connie Downes, Marie-Anne Hudson, and Kate Campbell (Environment & Climate Change Canada): BBS data support 
  • Nash Goonewardena, Ian Paine, and Michael Abley (University of Alberta): Technical support  
  • Denis Lepage and Catherine Jardine (Bird Studies Canada): Atlas data support  
  • Brendan Ward, Mike Lundin, Tosha Comendant, James Strittholt (Conservation Biology Institute): Web mapping gateway support 
  • Christian Roy (Environment & Climate Change Canada): Translation 
  • Paul Morrill (Ravenforge): website design, programming, and support 


  • Matt Carlson (Canadian Boreal Initiative)
  • John Cosco (Timberline Natural Resource Group)
  • Shoufan Fang (University of Alberta)
  • Kevin Hannah (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Bénédicte Kenmei (Université Laval)
  • Kara Lefevre (Université Laval)
  • Zhong Li (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Kim Lisgo (University of Alberta)
  • Melanie-Louise Leblanc (Université Laval)
  • Sheila MacLeod Potter (Blue Chair Designs)
  • Dan Mazerolle (Parks Canada)
  • Pierre Racine (Université Laval)
  • Stephanie Topp (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
This page last updated: Jan 18 2018